Power Levelling

D

Danamyr

Hello there, my first post so I'll try not to irk you regulars :)

Is is possible to power level still?

I am a complete noob at DAoC, having only played for around 4 months (married life and my job make sure I have little spare time), and I was under the impression it was not longer possible to power level in the accepted sense.

However, having a browse through the old posts (one in particular from last month) suggested that power levelling was still possible?

Please clear this up...TIA :)

BTW, I have three characters, all of which you may have seen online:

Danamyr Lvl 27 Paladin
Riverwind Lvl 23 Cleric (Yes I realise Goldmoon would have been more appropriate but she was taken!)
Fireforge Lvl 6 Fire Wizard (Someone had already nabbed both Raistlin and Flint - damn you fellow Dragonlance Chronicle readers :) )

All of which are in the same Guild - The Dragon-Fighters, a truely great bunch of peeps :)

O

old.Ramas

Not really, you can reduce downtime a little by having an ungrouped cleric/friar heal you when out of combat. Or up your damage a bit with high level e-buffs. But at the end of the day you still have to kill the mobs.

Most newbies get more out of "powerleveling" sessions through the advice given by a high level watching them, than through actual accelerated levelling.

C

Centuri

Yes powerlvling is still in the game and possible. There are a couple of ways in which it can be done.

First, and hardest way i find is to get into a group of 7 people who are all about 4-6 lvls above you.

Second, have a very high lvl sorc or theur(with aoe root/mess) friend and do tanglers with just him and you in group. This could also be done with a cleric and minstrel on the outside who can help out after a fight for mana or healing.

Third way is to group with someone who can take out yellows/oranges fast, best for this is a firewizard he will have to be a high lvl aswell.

There are other ways but those are the main ones really.