PC problems

Yoshimo

Fledgling Freddie
well finally got that new pc. assembled it all and installed operating system. everything was going fine until i started playing games and then:

DSC00001.JPG

I suspect it was gfx card related as it only happens when in the character select menu where fps jumps up to over 100 for some random reason or when in game doing alot of graphics heavy activity, but i'm no expert so can't be sure.

anyone have an idea what the cause may be?
already tried:
-different version of GFX card drivers
-flashing mobo BIOS with update
-disassembling/reassembling each part

still having the same problem tried everything i could think of.
any help would be very appreciated.

Boni

Fledgling Freddie
Asus A8N mobo by chance? Had the same thing myself.

Lots of people seem to get this and put it down to nforce drivers, the message implies your serial ATA drivers have done something naughty.

Think I fixed it myself by turning off onboard sound and getting a soundcard instead.

Yoshimo

Fledgling Freddie
Asus P5NSLI. told its a good model in a few other tech forums

Mojo

Fledgling Freddie
nvata.sys is your nvidia sata driver which apparently has a known issue, maybe get new mobo drivers from asus?

Although Boni got his working im not for disabling a device to get another working (it doesn’t really solve the problem) but it might be a quick win for you.

You could Google nvata.sys for other fixes that may be more appropriate for your system.

Cromcruaich

Can't get enough of FH
Mmm, not done this for ages, and its an inexact science but try the following.

Moving cards into different PCI slots and forcing an ESCD update through the BIOS (this is a long shot)

In device manager look at what IRQ's are getting shared with your serial ata controller, and assign anything that is shared to a different irq (that you can).

Easiest way to do this is in device manager, choose view>resources by type and expand interupt request (IRQ) to get the IRQ list.