OT: People With Radeon 8500 Cards

O

old.VooVoo

Hi

right i just need some opinions from people who got this card or even had this card. I've been contemplating buying one for about 2 months now and since i have a new job i can probably pick on up next week, i just want some views on how the card performs (non of this shitty Benchmarking which i find doesn't really rate a card, best way to rate a card is to play it in many games and see how it handles plus get other people opinions)

The model i'm currently looking at is the 8500 64 DRR version, but i'm wondering is it worth waiting an extra month and getting there 8500 128 DDR version? (it works out to i think about £80 to £100 extra)

Also what it like in games? when i look for a card i go for one that can have everything on max, all sliders to full (if there is any) playing in 1024x768x32 and it stays nice and smooth. (which i think is around 40-50fps) i figure if it can do that then its a card well worth having in my machine. I also go for quality rather than speed when choosing as well.

This is the current games playing list on my PC

IWAR2 : Edge of Chaos (started playing again since i got FF2 Sidewinder Joy :D )
IL2 Sturmovik
GTA3 (Just brought it :D)
Commanche 4 (great with FF2 Joy)
DAoC

I have plenty more in my collection i play every now and again, but thats my playing list for the last couple of weeks.

Has anyone got those games and uses a 8500? does it handle well sticking everything on full?

Reason i ask all this is, £200 (£300ish if i go for 128mg Version i think) is alot of money to spend on 1 piece of hardware and i just want to know i'm making a worthwhile purchase and not wasting my money.

I know i'm going to get a few people saying i should go out and buy a Geforce card, but i don't know i just taken a liking to the 8500.