Games Online games: are they worth it?

Overdriven

Dumpster Fire of The South
And you couldz pwn more then doris in thid!! :lol:

Oh aye, every time I logged onto my gimped SB I pretended I was him! Running around killing level 24s in DF and being whined on VN at for being a uber player (They were grey cons :( They nearly killed me each time) I mean, how can I, a ex-L50 SB live up to the L24 eliteness?!

noblok

Part of the furniture
Did I lose out on anything because of DAoC? No, I did not. I could have done more for school, but realistically speaking it wasn't DAoC which kept me from doing that: school was just boring. Proof? At university this year I finished my bachelor in philosophy in the top 10%, the first two (out of three) years I still played DAoC during exam periods out of boredom, the last year I didn't because I no longer enjoyed DAoC.

Apart from that DAoC has also been a positive influence in my life, mostly it made me more social. This year I was the student responsible for education in the philosophy faculty, next year I'll be vice-president of the student group (or whatever it's called in Enlgish). There is no way I'd have done this if it wasn't for DAoC. I used to be a really shy and quiet guy, but communication in DAoC went a lot easier. The fact that I seemed to be able to make friends pretty easily in DAoC also gave me more confidence in real life. Now I'm still a bit quiet in face-to-face communication, but I'm pretty good at speaking to groups (so I've been told). The fact that I was an event-officer in my DAoC-guild probably has something to do with this.