New to this kind of game

D

dr_jo

Hi. I'm pretty new to computer games, having been intorduced to them by my boyfriend. He's leant me Baldur's Gate 1 (and Tales of the Sword Coast), and I'm really enjoying it.
But I'm struggling. I've never played this kind of game before, so I'm pretty clueless. I'm really struggling with combat, and that means I'm not getting anywhere.

Could anyone give me any tips, or hints to help me get started please?

Thanks, dr_jo

L

Louster

Uhhm yeah I remember this game being fairly overwhelming to begin with. Most of the stuff is pretty intuitive though, and the manual is pretty comprehensive. What specifically are you having problems with? I guess one thing to note is that you generally need a balanced team, with some fighters, a thief, casters, healers and whatnot. The game's relatively forgiving though, and it definitely has enough replayability (what with all the tons of sidequests) that you could play through once, or get pretty far, and start over with the knowledge you've gained without suffering too much from boredom.

L

Louster

Oh yeah. Don't be afraid to use the "rest" button pretty often. At the beginning of BG1, and most of the way through it in fact, your characters won't be able to cast many spells before they need to re-memorise them, and you generally don't lose anything by resting.

D

dr_jo

Thank you for the tips. An example of my problem... Quite early on, a woman asks you to go to her house, and rid it of spiders. I had a party of 6, a couple of fighters, a couple who could cast spells. And the best I managed was to come out with 4 members still alive.
How do I go about healing someone who's been poisoned? And do you have any tips for the general fighting bits? I'm used to real time strategy games like Age of Empires, so I'm kinda lost.

Thanks

L

Louster