New to the game

murderedprayer

Fledgling Freddie
Hi, ok I'm a compete newb to DAoC, and it's proving pretty fidgety adjusting from the transition from EQ and SWG.
Basically my friend sold me his account which already has some high level characters made but I don't want to use them cause it feels like cheating. I'm on (in?) albion and just started out as a Highlander fighter, now level 3 and probably going Merc at level 5. Just wondering are there any good levelling tips or general advice people could offer to help out because as I said the transition to this game is not overly easy due to the lack of an original manual and the in game help system being minimal help.

Also will a merc be any use in PvP because I've heard that this game has possibly one of the best systems in an MMOG.

murderedprayer

Fledgling Freddie
Oh and for what it's worth I only have the original game and Shrouded Isles so any advice beeyond those won't be much help til I get the other expansions, is it even worth trying or does everybody spend all their time in the new zones and I'll never be able to find a group?

LordjOX

Part of the furniture
Hi!
And welcome to albion!

Do a /who <level range> (/who 3 5 for example) and you'll see where most players at your lvl exp, you can pm them and ask if they want to team up:) Good spots to start is camelot hills....

Or another way to get lvls fast is to ask guards for tasks, simply step up to them and /say task!

If you either task or group your way up, you can visit your first dungeon at about lvl 8 or 9 and group with people there! It's called Mithra and is very spooky and located in camelot hills... ask people for directions ;)

Good luck!

Eraser

Loyal Freddie
not enough time to tell you all the stuff you should know about here.
there are plenty of good websites in the net with much interessting info you should read.
as you seem to have experience in these kinda games you wont be afraid of the complexity of daoc.