MP or 99%?

T

TheLog

I'm new to the crafting scene and am trying to decide what weapon to best get for my 50 thane. I'm going arcanium spiked hammer but should i go for 99% or MP? what is the difference between the two of these and does it warrent the price difference?

V

Vell

With a MP you get a few more imbue points, and a few more damage each swing.

With a 99%, you spend about 3plat less.

K

krill-nyd

On paper you get 4 extra imbue point for spell craft on the mp and when you get to Realm Rank 5 you'll get .3 extra dps out of an mp. I have this mystical feeling mp's are better in ways more than this seems, but it's probably not true. So I use mps and they're nice, whether the cost justifies the extra's you get I think you'll have to work out.

However, on shields I'd say definitly go mp on. They are cheap enough to pay for a lot of tries for an mp one. For example, retry on a spiked hammer at cost is 40g, for a medium shield retry is 8g and for a small 6.5.

F

frogster

Also...
According to Mythic, Mp's also have a "Hidden Con"
So technically they will last much longer than 99's :eek:
Not sure how much longer tho

N

-Nxs-

Yes i remember reading somewhere that a 100% con item gets a 35point bonus to its duration.

So its like having 135% con on the weapon - you can keep repairing it for 35 points worth before you start to see degridation.

I think it was 35 - may only be 30... or 20 :)

F

Fafnir

I would first go with a 99% hammer then when i hit rr4l9 and closing on rr5 i would get myself the mp.

L

lairiodd

when you get to Realm Rank 5 you'll get .3 extra dps out of an mp.
This isnt true. Before RR5 your dps is capped at 16.2 *before* quality is applied.

RR1 - level 50 using a 16.5 dps weapon
99%: 16.04 effective dps
MP: 16.2 effective dps

RR5 - level 50 using a 16.5 dps weapon
99: 16.34 effective dps
MP: 16.5 effective dps