Help Life choices

gohan

FH is my second home
So I'm currently six weeks into my PGCE for secondary maths and I'm really enjoying it.

Today my brother just offered me a carpentary job working on films sets (in the last few years he's done star wars 7, the Han solo movie, ready player one, the mummy, the man from uncle and both fantastic beasts films). Now I know my way around tools but I'm far from an expert but it's a whole who ya know thing so even with my lack of experience I'd be getting £30 an hour plus 120% over 40 hours and 180% on Sundays. Which is like 60k a year minimum up to like 100k for reasonable 6 day weeks etc.

Now I'm fairly sure I wouldn't enjoy the work, but I'd be earning around 3 times the wage (plus 6% tax self employed company dodgy shit) and I'd get to work on cool as fuck sets.

So do I stick with teaching and be poor, or sell out and go into the film industry?

Gwadien

Uneducated Northern Cretin
So I'm currently six weeks into my PGCE for secondary maths and I'm really enjoying it.

Today my brother just offered me a carpentary job working on films sets (in the last few years he's done star wars 7, the Han solo movie, ready player one, the mummy, the man from uncle and both fantastic beasts films). Now I know my way around tools but I'm far from an expert but it's a whole who ya know thing so even with my lack of experience I'd be getting £30 an hour plus 120% over 40 hours and 180% on Sundays. Which is like 60k a year minimum up to like 100k for reasonable 6 day weeks etc.

Now I'm fairly sure I wouldn't enjoy the work, but I'd be earning around 3 times the wage (plus 6% tax self employed company dodgy shit) and I'd get to work on cool as fuck sets.

So do I stick with teaching and be poor, or sell out and go into the film industry?

Depends if you're finding your PGCE difficult or not, also, don't be put off the money in the long term, if you acquire enough extra responsibilities you'll be dandy.