Laptops / Uni!

Mey

Part of the furniture
I'm off to uni as some of you might know, and i need to start about getting a laptop or desktop sorted, ideally i'd get both but my mum/dad will only pay for the Laptop, i want to be able to play some games on them (i'm not hoping for the best graphics and speeds but aslong as its playable thats good) the problem, im a hardware novice.. i have no idea what is good and what is shit, so this is why i'm asking you guys to help me. Can you find me a decent laptop for uni that isn't going to cost me the earth.. less than a £1000 is good.

Cheers Mey.

Tilda

I just took my desktop.
If i'm in lectures I had write notes, if I'm in the library i'm probably making notes from a book.
If I have an essay to do, I do it at home, as I see it, unless you write essays in the library, you don't *need* a laptop.

Lamp

Gold Star Holder!!
*COUGH*

I went to university in the erly 90s - hardly anyone had a laptop or PC let along took them to uni

These days they're essential student kit

I'd buy something VERY cheap that does the job. Assume you're going to get burgled. Student's frequently get robbed for ganja etc

Lamp

Gold Star Holder!!
Tilda said:
I just took my desktop.
If i'm in lectures I had write notes, if I'm in the library i'm probably making notes from a book.
If I have an essay to do, I do it at home, as I see it, unless you write essays in the library, you don't *need* a laptop.

:clap:

WORD

Cemeterygates

Can't get enough of FH
"that isn't going to cost me the earth"...lol ur folks are payin for it...an afterall im sure it isnt essential but i guess that would depend what it is you are studying...if its an ICT thing then ye it might be really needed...but other than that i dont get it..other than entertainment purposes.

tris-

Failed Geordie and Parmothief
if you wnt to spend the full 1k, go for a dell and buy what ever model costs that much.

dell = ftw for novices and pros alike

Cemeterygates

Can't get enough of FH