Laggy, buggy and dull SWG?

O

old.Cordain

Well now that Euro launch is really close I see people stating that they will skip SWG because of bugs and bad reputation that other are spreading of it.

I am only a novice in three elite professions so I cant say much about the end game but I have had much fun with SWG up to date. Sure people who grind 24/7 and aim solely on force sensitive character slot are getting bored but power players face it in every game. Some games can keep even the hardcore power players happy but the advancement in those is usually artificially made harder (ie. EQ and DAOC).

As I didnt play it from the launch I missed most of the really horrible bugs. Actually I can only think of one bug that annoys me and that is the crashing of chat channels. I can still play fine and groups can still go about but it gets a bit lonely if you are soloing in the wild and cant chat with guild or friends.
Its a major bug so I cant see a reason why SOE would not try to solve it as soon as possible.

Many people whine about the daily server down time.
Its around 4am? in the time zone where the servers are and where the majority of players are supposed to be (it US launch after all) and still people get upset if the servers are down for more than hour. So if 20-22 hours/day uptime is not enought for you then you will get dissapointed. I am sure that expecting 24/7 service will dissapoint you in other areas of life too.
I have played about 5 weeks and I have seen 3 servers crashes and 6 or so CTD's. I can live with that.

SWG has by the far best roleplaying tools of all the MMORPG's currently on the market. You can make your character really unique looking at the creation and you can customize it further in the game by the aid of Image Designers (player profession). Clothing and armor combinations are allmost endless.