Guitar

WPKenny

Resident Freddy
Damini just bought me an acoustic guitar! :D

I got a book with CD which has shown me D, G and A cords so far but my fingers are knackered already so I've had to rest. Oh and I've learnt how to tune the guitar too, which I guess is fairly important. ;)

The guitar is a Tanglewood which as far as I can tell is a reasonably good make so when it gets tough I have the whole guilt complex about the cost to keep me going. ( :sex: to Damini)

Anyway, a big thank you to Damini. If there's any guitar players out there who can give me some tips I'd appreciate it. I'm left handed but for the sake of being able to use other people's guitars I'm learning right handed.

Tom

I am a FH squatter
I want to learn the guitar one day :)

I'm learning the piano right now. Getting pretty good at it as well. I can play Fur Elise, Pathetique Sonata, Moonlight Sonata, Imagine (JL), Trouble (coldplay) and I'm just learning 'With a little help from my friends' (which is harder than you might think).

Stick with it Kenny, its hard and frustrating at first but you'll start to pick it up slowly, and after a year or so you'll be playing 5-10 tunes easily. Being able to play an instrument is such a rewarding experience.

A really nice tune to learn is 'Cavatina' which is the theme music to 'The Deerhunter'. Its bloody hard on the piano, so I can't imagine how easy it would be on a guitar.

Take time to learn how to easily read the music as well - its very important.

throdgrain

FH is my second home
Ive played the acoustic guitar for years, and Im left handed too, but like you I play right handed. I like it because you can do it anywhere, no plug required or anything.
First song I ever learned was Mr Tambourine Man Bob Dylan style (oh god!!), I can still play it today :)

Teren

One of Freddy's beloved
I'm gonna go on my first guitar lesson next saturday :D

MKJ

Fledgling Freddie