Excalibur - "service not available"

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2,467
Been trying for over 10 mins to log in to Excal...tried my Thane, parked in Hadrian's Wall...gets to char loading screen and hangs there with progress bar full...tried my Warrior, parked in housing zone, and got:

"Retrying
Retrying
Retrying
Service not available, hit Esc to exit game"

...wtf?

EDIT: and now GOA site not working..
 

Bugz

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
7,297
Svartmetall said:
Been trying for over 10 mins to log in to Excal...tried my Thane, parked in Hadrian's Wall...gets to char loading screen and hangs there with progress bar full
Sometimes this occurs (it may have been fixed). Usually changing the camera angle 'brakes' the loading screen so u can play.
 

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2,467
Bugz said:
Sometimes this occurs (it may have been fixed). Usually changing the camera angle 'brakes' the loading screen so u can play.
Nope, it's still doing it, "service not available"...now not gettng anything except that on the first login screen. Really annoying.

...
 

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2,467
OK, now it's hanging on the initial login screen, you know, the on where you put account name etc in, says "connecting to login server" and that just keeps blinking.

WTF is going on?

EDIT: it's definitely a problem with Excalibur, I just logged into Prydwen fine on both my accounts.
 

York

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
153
are you on NTL by any chance?

We are having problems here too in Lincoln, web pages are getting more and more difficult to open, and cant connect to the game.
Appears to be an intermittent problem because my msn is still working fine.
 

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2,467
York said:
are you on NTL by any chance?

We are having problems here too in Lincoln, web pages are getting more and more difficult to open, and cant connect to the game.
Appears to be an intermittent problem because my msn is still working fine.
Yeah, NTL cable...FFS! I HAVE to log into Excal NOW, there a bloody RR going on FFS! Useless fucking NTL muppets...

EDIT Wait that doesnt make sense how could I log into Pryd with no problems?
 

Jimmyjr

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
714
Happening to me also, went ld and and now i cannot get past the update server part, quiet annoying :/
 

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2,467
It's REALLY annoying, came back from going to cinema gagging to join in RR and post-RR action and now can't log into the fucking game godDAMMIT
 

Jimmyjr

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
714
Svartmetall said:
Yep: "there are no problems at this moment"

pff

JimmyJr, you on NTL too?
Aye, they suck ld'd while defending tower from middies :(
 

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2,467
But what's really weird is I can log into Prydwen fine on both my accounts.

That tells me my install of DAOC etc is fine, but I can't see NTL using a different route to Prydwen as opposed to Excalibur, I would've thought that would happen only at the very last server/router hop before the server itself...really, really, really fucking annoying though.
 

Moriaana

Loyal Freddie
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
65
I got the same problem. NTL near Lincoln :(

Done a pingplotter to prydwen server.... OMFG at all the red on it. If I could upload it somewhere I would show you it.

77 D/C in 10 mins.... That's like.... BAD!

Nice one NTL! :flame:

Problem seems to be :

nott-t2core-a-ge-wan71.inet.ntl.com
nott-t2core-b-pc1.inet.ntl.com
nth-bb-b-so-200-0.inet.ntl.com

Mainly the first one. The other 2 are after it so could be a symptom of the first one being borked :p

I gave up ringing NTL when all they told me was 'it was working as intended'.
Think I heard that before :D
 

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2,467
FFS just managed to log into Excal and LD'd again just AFTER I got a grp

ffsffsffsffsffsffsffs
 

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2,467
And now back to this fucking "service not available" bullshit
 

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2,467
TWO LDs in ten minutes FFS cant login at al now useless ntl *****
 

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2,467
NTL now saying there are problems in Nottingham, Grimsby, Mansfield, Melton Mowbray, Lincoln, Leicester, Stapleford, Grantham and they are "working on it"

ffs why NOW right in the middle of the first RR for fucking MONTHS
 

Tilda

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
5,755
Svartmetall said:
NTL now saying there are problems in Nottingham, Grimsby, Mansfield, Melton Mowbray, Lincoln, Leicester, Stapleford, Grantham and they are "working on it"

ffs why NOW right in the middle of the first RR for fucking MONTHS
Just to convince you to do something other than play daoc.
Turn your computer off and go to bed.
 

York

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
153
mmm yeah ... im not too bothered by this, this is the first time our internet has gone down in well over 6 months so i cant complain. Did someone say the internet was invincible?
 

Formash

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
482
Svartmetall said:
Been trying for over 10 mins to log in to Excal...tried my Thane, parked in Hadrian's Wall...gets to char loading screen and hangs there with progress bar full...tried my Warrior, parked in housing zone, and got:

"Retrying
Retrying
Retrying
Service not available, hit Esc to exit game"

...wtf?

EDIT: and now GOA site not working..
Does this help ?
https://forums.freddyshouse.com/showthread.php?t=53461

read the news - the news is your friend.
 

Formash

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
482
FraGGenstein said:
Reading the posts also helps, and maybe check the time and date for the 1st post before replying.
These problems started the evening before of the planned maintenance shutdown.

DOH ! thank you for your wit. in future i SHALL read dates n times of posts, silly me for the one time i didn't read it.
 

Formash

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
482
York said:
no cookies for you!
S'ok - Zinne of the Drakan Templars on Excal Alb always has cookies.. I'm sure she'll give me a bite ;) (I nearly said im sure she'll give me one, but decided against it , otherwise i'd have zinne's husband bricking in my windows)
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom