EQ or DAoC?

L

Lusse

Heyas all... im a EQ player that is thinking real hard about starting to play DAoC.

Anyone that feels like giving me some pros and cons?

L

Lanceloc

Sure thing. In EQ I had a paladin that I raised to level 16 which took me a couple of months! Maybe it was because I was a noob but I thought it was soooo boring just doing the same thing over and over (killing monsters and attempting to do impossible quests) that I quit the game.

In DAoC you get styles which make melee combat more interesting and Realm vs Realm combat which will forever keep you interested.

Graphics: EQ slightly better quality than DAoC.

e.g. no moving trees in DAoC, spell effects just as great in both, no visible weapon in first person view in DAoC unlike in EQ.

Sound: EQ has more ambient sounds but DAoC will be addressed soon.

Lastability: DAoC beats EQ hands down for me.

O

old.Trine Aquavit

I played EQ for a year before switching to DAOC at release.

Fundamentally, EQ beats DAOC on content and DAOC beats EQ on playability.

EQ Content:

Bigger game world
More mobs, quests and items
More high level content
More bits & pieces: trade skills, languages, etc
Greater variety of spells, etc
Better player-based market
Greater variety of servers

DAOC Playability:

Less downtime (regeneration, corpse runs, travel)
Faster levelling (less XP loss on death, more XP gained per kill)
Better interface
Better grouping tools
Better PvP implementation

I've pretty much moved to DAOC permanently as I've found it to be more fun, personally. Part of that was being able to come into a 'new' game rather than one that has been going for years (playing alongside other people's main characters instead of everyone's alts for a change).

If you haven't given DAOC a go then it's definitely worth a shot - it's a lot of fun.

B

Bootae

DaoC has a lot more to do than EQ, with decent PvP and the whole realm combat lark.