Creative process

Imgormiel

Part of the furniture
I've been writing poetry, monologues, short stories for almost 3 decades now. I never released any of my work and just kept it in an envelope. Very few people have seen it and given the work that I released on here, I've been pleasantly surprised to see that (from people I've shown locally) the response has actually been good.

I did mess around in earlier years by showing it to people, getting various levels of response. Some positive, some negative. But the 'release' shall I call it of 'Time and space' on this forum seems to have triggered an interest in my work. I find it a little hard to take after 27 years at it and then realising that this process may actually be paying off - not in a commercial sense but in one that people identify with.

In all this time I've never taken any money for anything that I've written creatively and I guess for me was the finest moment in this 'hobby' as it has been. Generally it has been when I wrote something for my grandmother and I gave a draft of it to my mother on the back of a piece of an envelope sent to me via the DWP. She didn't even bother to ask for a proper copy, it went there into her coffin - All the family said that I had written something special - which I took with humility given the occasion.

But now I am starting to get some belief in my own work, regardless of how 'dark' it is for some people. And that I can actually do something that hits everyone now matter how badly I feel for myself and I know it's sad but I am still grieving for my late father almost 3 years later.

I am very pleased that those small hours here and there over the years may actually be leading somewhere - where I've no idea, poetry etc makes no money but I've always known that. Perhaps it's a journey that I can take people through without money and into the mind :)

Chronictank

FH is my second home