Cooling down

W

whirling1

Hi I have an Athlon 1.4ghz proc with the bog standard heatsink and fan (crappy coolermaster one) , I ran a check on temps other day and thing is running at 62-67 degrees....too hot methinks.

Im gonna buy a new heatsink and wanted to know if this will do the job .....Coolermaster HHC-L61 silent heat pipe ...was also gonna replace the 2500rpm fan this comes with to a faster one...along with 2x 9inch case fans.....will this do the job? and what type of heat transfer paste should i get? normal white stuff or the 99% silver ???? (yes i am a newb :p )

W

whirling1

Could any one give links to any good reliable uk online stores for this stuff..apart from e-buyer?

S

S-Gray

AS3 is the best Compund..

and i have a TaiSol Fan which keeps my CPU 40º or around that

D

Deadmanwalking

Im sure hed like to be able to sleep at night and not have that taisol fan going liek an aircraft acrrier.

*got over ur card obsession gray*

W

whirling1

Originally posted by Deadmanwalking.
Im sure hed like to be able to sleep at night and not have that taisol fan going liek an aircraft acrrier.

My comp already sound like an helicopter in flight LOL

D

Deadmanwalking

LOL yeah well then u dont want to add to it do u :p

The coolermaster silent heatpipe would be ur best bet as it isnt quite silent but u cant hear it with case cover on :p

S

S-Gray

I wouldnt say it sounds at all loud, its pretty quiet when i have my case off

*and i wont be over my "obsession" with Game until i get what i want*

W

whirling1

Would the ALPHA PAL 8045 be classed as overkill for my system?

or the thermaltake volcano 7?

E

Embattle

You would find it easier to use the Thermalright SLK-800 which performs as well, the PAL 8045 requires you to remove the Motherboard.

W

whirling1

Im planning on stripping my system to bare bones anyhow as i need to drill my case to fit in the 2 90mm case fans...and do a spring clean replacing my old ribbon cables with nice round ones.