Buff Bot PC

Brite

Banned
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
67
I had a buff bot PC but i sold it :p

im back playing again and i was just wondering if anyone has any recommendations at what to do for the cheapest price

i was thinking buy a barebone system, stick a hdd, memory and cpu in it, use the onboard gfx and also get a usb wirless lan card for it, then use a switch to share monitor keyboard which should be suitable as i use for rvr dragging along to keeps and taking some of the strain off my pc running 2 clients, as im bd dont use to heal in pve just buffs

any recommendations much appreciated cheers
 

UndyingAngel

Part of the furniture
Joined
Jan 21, 2004
Messages
1,957
Brite said:
I had a buff bot PC but i sold it :p

im back playing again and i was just wondering if anyone has any recommendations at what to do for the cheapest price

i was thinking buy a barebone system, stick a hdd, memory and cpu in it, use the onboard gfx and also get a usb wirless lan card for it, then use a switch to share monitor keyboard which should be suitable as i use for rvr dragging along to keeps and taking some of the strain off my pc running 2 clients, as im bd dont use to heal in pve just buffs

any recommendations much appreciated cheers
why not upgrade your main PC and duel log ?
 

Fana

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
2,181
Should be pretty basic: buy the cheapest parts you can find that meets the system requirements if its only to be used as a bb comp. AMD Sempron or Pentium Celeron processor, 40 or 60gb hd, 512 ram (so it doesnt crash in sieges), radeon 9200 or Nvidia5200 or some such, Motherboard with onboard lan and sound. I wouldnt go for integrated gfx since its pretty much worthless for games (i.e. im guessing you would crash often if you took it with you to sieges etc).

Good luck :)
 

Void959

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
887
UndyingAngel said:
why not upgrade your main PC and duel log ?
Agreed, much cheaper just to get 1024mb ram and dual log, unless ofc you play it actively.
 

Helme

FH is my second home
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
3,161
Grab a celeron, some ram a decent sized HDD and a low grade radeon/geforce card and your set. Dont go for onboard gfx cards as they suck bigtime in DAoC(I have tried with an Intel one, and it wasnt pretty)
 

Brite

Banned
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
67
thanks for advice i think ill go for this, barebone has inbuilt g force 4 which has some pretty good reviews and if it is really bad i can always upgrade as it has a spare agp slot, microdirect had no durons and use a switch thing to use same monitor and keyboard, comes to about £300 with vat, i know expensive but ill probabaly use it at uni aswell as a tiny box hardly noticable and lets just say bluesq.com has gladly paid for this :p

Biostar iDEQ 200N Barebone system nForce2/MCP-T, Dual Ch.DDR333, SATA RAID, on board GF2, sound, USB2.0, firewire, LAN (£93.95)

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInfo.aspx?ProductID=7006


AMD Athlon XP 2800 (333MHz) Retail Barton Core inc.fan (3 yr.warr.) (£56.99)

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInfo.aspx?ProductID=2747


40 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Plus8 7200rpm ATA133 2MB Cache (£24.75)

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInfo.aspx?ProductID=2884


512MB DDR333 PC2700 RAM (elixir brand) (£26.49)

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInfo.aspx?ProductID=3152


Belkin 54MB Wireless Desktop PCI Network Card (F5D7000uk) (£19.95)

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInfo.aspx?ProductID=5940


Belkin KVM OmniCube 2 port +cables (£17.00)

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInfo.aspx?ProductID=5500
 

Brite

Banned
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
67
Void959 said:
Agreed, much cheaper just to get 1024mb ram and dual log, unless ofc you play it actively.
i have 1gb of ram and amd 64 3200 with a nice new mobo and pci-e asus it runs ok but it lds a bit so i have to relog when i want to buff and you cant drag it about with you
 

Kaun_IA

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
3,000
I myself run a Intel Pentium4 2,4ghz :wanker: , Radeon x800pro 256ddr3, 768 ddr and i have a very old asus mobo(should upgrade sometime soon)

My bro runns Pentium4 2,8ghz (i think), Radeon 9600xt 256ddr, 512 ddr, and i think he has pci-e mobo.

and im getting myself a third comp in about a month couse i dont want to dual logg.(when bro not home i can use hes comp, but it sucks when he comes home and im fully buffed somewhere other side of NF and have to logg BB on my comp)

im going to buy something like this> pentium 4 1,7ghz, 512 ddr , donno what gfx yet, mybe something with 64-128 memory. i want to uuse this comp for bb and to read formus when booring in daoc.
 

poisono

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
May 10, 2004
Messages
271
The onboard graphics on that will not support the new client with Catacombs very well your talking a Ge Force 5200 minimum imo. They are what £20-£25?

My second rig runs a 2000xp, 1Gig DDR 3200, Radeon 9800 Pro AiW, DFI NForce 2 Ultra 400. Upgraded it then ended up getting a whole new a64 rig :s
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom