Binding f8 to the quickbar

Naetha

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,564
Is there anyway of binding the 'select nearest enemy' key to your quickbar?
 

Moriath

I am a FH squatter
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
14,197
dont think so but i got it bound to my mouse button :)
 

cemi0

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
1,791
you can just bind it to another key in the controls?
 

Jerelyn

One of Freddy's beloved
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
202
i've bound it to "Q" pretty easy ;) and "/stick" is middle mouse button.

-Jerelyn
 

Naetha

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,564
I don't want to bind it to a different key on the keyboard, I want to get it so I can click on it on my quickbar with my mouse, haven't been able to manage it :(
 

Boomeruk

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
523
not possible, ive tried this one b4 hehe

i ended up spending £60 on a mouse with enuff buttons to bind stick / face / f8 on em hehe
 

LordjOX

Part of the furniture
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
3,886
boomer, you filthy rich )("¤)=¤"
in game and irl :x
 

Addlcove

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
520
give tip to binding to mouse, I use a logitech mx700 but the controls options dont react when I push the buttoms
 

Graknak

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
561
altough this doesn't quite help you bind nearest target to yer qbar it is rather nifty ^^

Dark Age of Camelot

Test Version 1.68a Release Notes

January 20, 2004

QUICKBINDING


- To allow players to better bind their keys to player abilities, we're introducing a system of 'Quickbinding'. This allows you to bind any free keyboard key to a particular quickbar slot.

- These bind to a particular slot, so changing what is in the slot will change what the keypress does. You may only assign quickbinds to keys which do not yet have any action mapped to them in the normal keyboard config screen. These quickbinds are saved on a per-character basis.

(To bind a new key) /qbind bar# slot#

(To get rid of a keybinding) /qunbind bar# slot#

(To see all your current bindings) /qbind

- For example, if you put Quickcast on page 10, slot #5 of your quickbar, and wanted to bind a key to it, you would enter: /qbind 10 5

- You would be prompted to press the key to bind this ability to.
 

Moriath

I am a FH squatter
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
14,197
Addlcove said:
give tip to binding to mouse, I use a logitech mx700 but the controls options dont react when I push the buttoms
Never managed to get my logitec mouse to work in game with keys bound to it. But the microsoft mouse and software worked first time :)

Just bind the keys u use for the commands to the mouse buttons and away you go.
 

Behmoth

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
615
yeah easily done go to option changed most of mine now feels a lot more comfier but occasionally sit down when meaning to go to attack mode :(
 

Ziva

Fluffy
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
651
Addlcove said:
give tip to binding to mouse, I use a logitech mx700 but the controls options dont react when I push the buttoms
U need to install the right software to do it. So that's either the software you got with the mouse or try intellipoint from microsoft (though im not sure how this will work with logitech).

You can select which buttons represent which key.
 

Eroa

Banned
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
1,138
Addlcove said:
give tip to binding to mouse, I use a logitech mx700 but the controls options dont react when I push the buttoms
Logitech mouses work just fine ingame. All you have to do is to install the Logitech driver then assosite the keys on the mouse with a key on the keyboard. You can even do so you assosiate it with shift+1 and shift+2 for easy QB sellection ;)
 

coutinho

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
23
F# keys

Why dont u guys use Function keys?
I have F2=Select Nearest Enemy and F3=Stick,
so u just need to press F2..F3 and Hit the enemy.
 

Moriath

I am a FH squatter
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
14,197
cause its a lot easier to select the styles with the left hand .. 1,2,3,4 qb slot and stick select nme with the right on the mouse.. and you dont get the chance to hit the wrong f key
 

Naetha

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,564
Its OK now, I've changed the way I set up my keyboard. I have WASD as move around, Q and E as strafe, and ZXC as nearest enemy, stick, attack. Don't use it in RvR, but is useful in the zerg-style PvE we get in ToA these days.
 

Eroa

Banned
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
1,138
Naetha said:
Its OK now, I've changed the way I set up my keyboard. I have WASD as move around, Q and E as strafe, and ZXC as nearest enemy, stick, attack. Don't use it in RvR, but is useful in the zerg-style PvE we get in ToA these days.
^^ how do you normaly run if not with WASD?
 

Nxs

One of Freddy's beloved
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
478
Eroa said:
^^ how do you normaly run if not with WASD?
move along a row - ESDF to move :) that allows me a whole circle of buttons around the left hand do bind to usefullness.
 

Ssera

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
224
ESDF > WASD :)

Got G bound for nearest enemy, V for stick and B for face. Got a logitech mouse too tho and been wondering about rebinding all my keys to the buttons there... need to dig out the installation cd's first tho ;)
 

yaruar

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
2,617
Boomeruk said:
not possible, ive tried this one b4 hehe

i ended up spending £60 on a mouse with enuff buttons to bind stick / face / f8 on em hehe
Nostromo gamepad N52 4tehwin! more programmable buttons than you can shake a very big shaky stick at.
 

Duzzy

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 23, 2004
Messages
190
Eroa said:
^^ how do you normaly run if not with WASD?
my setup:

n - forward
m - backwards
v - right strafe
c - left strafe
b - attack mode
x - nearest enemy
g - sprint
f - face
j - last attacker
stick - mouse 3

etc :eek:
 

Sycorax

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
16
Wow! :eek6: Do you all play in first person view?

I have always used:
right mouse or up arrow = forward
left mouse or down arrow = backwards
left arrow = strafe left
right arrow = strafe right

left hand on the keyboard most everything needed in combat:
F1 = stick
F2 = face
F3 = follow
F4 = sprint
F5 = main weapon
F6 = 2H weapon slot
F7 = missile weapon slot
F8 = ground target
F9 = closest/next friend
F10 = sell item
F11 = camera toggle

Q = closest/next enemy
A = last attacker
W = mouse look toggle
\ = jump
Z = sit
X = auto run
D = reset camera
E = use object
C = closest object
V = get object
B = delve info

I tried WASD for a short while, but found it not as fun as using the mouse.
 

Moriath

I am a FH squatter
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
14,197
I find using the mouse to select and keys to move more efficient because you can pick out targets easier with the mouse and wsad keys or esdf keys and use the mouse to pick targets.
 

Vae

FH is my second home
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
1,165
I used to use the default rpg keys but recently changed config. It screwed me up for about a week until i'd got used to it:

WASD for movement
Q E = Strafe
up and down arrow = look up/down
x = stick
c=sprint
z=jump
\=down
f=face
v=sit

Working well now. Rarely have to use f6 or f8 as just spam weaponstyle on 2 to go into combat instead (I'm a mini so only use ammy slash :) )
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom