Anyone know how shares work??

Gray

FH is my second home
At my company i've been paying in £100 per month for 3 years. The price the shares were at the time of me starting this was only 58p, which will entitle me to 6153 shares, in total this means i'll have paid in just over £3500.

At the time i thought i'd probably only double my amount, but at this time i've found that actually the shares are now at £1.60 - Almost treble what they were 3 years ago...

So, if i sold these shares in a few months, will this mean i'm in for a big payday?? By my calculations i'd be looking at £10,000 return?

Zarjazz

Identifies as a horologist.
Every companies share scheme is different and the details matter. I will say being able to buy shares 3 years later at the same price you joined at sounds a little odd.

Usually when you sell shares you'll have to pay Capital Gains Tax (upto 40%) on the profit but you may qualify for Employee shareholder exemptions which mean you don't on amounts less than £50,000. If the HR department can't assist then frankly get an accountant to advise as it can get complicated.

Moriath

I am a FH squatter
Ihad a share scheme where you bpught and had to hold for three years for tax purposes.

You need to check what they were bpught at and comlare them to what theyare now

You get a seven ish grand capital gains limit which means the difference between what you bought and sell at cant be more than that or you pay tax on the difference.

What probably happened was each year they bpught you shares. Means that you cant sell for three years from each purchase.

But need to check the exact terms,

I sold mine ina couple lots so i didnt get taxed. If your company has doubled its share price you might be in for a little wind fall.

DaGaffer

Down With That Sorta Thing
Every companies share scheme is different and the details matter. I will say being able to buy shares 3 years later at the same price you joined at sounds a little odd.