Short Vegas guide

rure

Fledgling Freddie
Ok, so it's my turn to farm rep points. Not really, it's getting a bit tedious to answer the same questions about Vegas all the time. And I hate movies made in Windows Movie Maker to, what keeps most people away from Vegas seems to be fact that its a bit tricky to understand in the beginning.

So here is a short and very basic guide to Vegas. I'll assume you know the very basics about Vegas, like adding a vid clip for example.

Disclaimer: I am just an amateur on Vegas, no education whatsoever. So if anyone know any smarter/better ways to do this feel free to correct me. And I know my english can at times be horrible but if I'd write this in Swedish not many people would understand.

How to add a text over a video clip:

Start out by making adding a video channel. Right click somewhere on the grey area where the timeline is and choose Insert Video Track (in Vegas 6.0 one can press CTRL+Shift+Q to add a new vid channel).

Add your text in the upper vid channel and the vid in the lower one. Should look like this:

Make sure your text is transparent. You can check how to do it here:

How to zoom in on a clip:
Right click on the clip. Choose pan/crop option. A new screen appears. In the bottom there is a timeline. Click on the timeline where you want to zoom in. Unless you want to start zooming from the start of the clip double click on the timeline X seconds before where the actual zooming should start. You have to do this otherwise Vegas will think that you want a slow zoom which starts from the beginning of the clip. After you done that click on the timeline again where you want the zoom. Click and hold your mousebutton on the grey boxes on the edges of the big grey rectangle. Make the rectangle smaller if you want to zoom in.