![]() |
|
||||
|
Fake mail: "WoW Insider: Honor system Launched!"
Did anyone else got this mail ? I know of some more people of which I know they play WoW and received this mail.
I'm not planning to find out and prove the links in the mail were the reason, but the moment I clicked a link in this mail I had a whole lot of spy/adware on my PC. A closer look made me realise my mistake. The reply adres wasn't a @blizzard.com adress, all links in the mail had the same url. The mail looked quite professional and had me fooled that it wasnt official. What worries me most is how they got my email adres ? It doesn't look like a random sent mail to me. Luckily the junk this all left on my PC wasnt hard to remove, I just reinstalled my PC because of some very nasty adware.
__________________
"I'm not here to play flowerpower dwarf!" Turath - Guild Master of the Lowland Companions Heroes of WoW
Last edited by Stekkerdoos; 26th April 2005 at 09:24 PM. |
| Sponsored Links |
|
||||
|
i got one too, looks like someone got naughty and has been selling email addresses
considering i got it sent to my "safe" email address im kinda worried (ive only used it to sign up to DAoC, WoW and gmail as far as i know) thanks for the warning btw, was about to open it when i noticed this thread
__________________
Ormie, Ormii, Ormorof - Karak Azgal Ormie - Karak Hirn http://www.griffonknight.com |
|
||||
|
I got one aswell...the adress it was sent from was blizzard@effibases.com.. got another message from them 2005-03-03 concerning a "survey" where you could win a one year sub of WoW.
__________________
[FONT=Century Gothic]Hibernia Excalibur:[/FONT] Hrun 6l7 lurichamp (R.I.P) |
|
|||
|
I read about this on the offical boards and apparently someone got his beta key sent from that domain, so most likely legit. Pretty stupid of them useing a thirdparty like that tho.
__________________
Opin Nightshade Raven Ardent Opinn Silver Hand ML10 Eter Bard Conchobar Druid |
|
||||
|
I also got the mail, not sure if it's real or fake tbh..
__________________
WAR Urme - Shaman (Server: KEP) AoC Inactive: lvl 80 HoX on Dagon DAoC Inactive: 8 level 50 chars on Exc. SM on US Classic WoW - Stormscale Flurme 70 Troll Rogue - Inactive |
|
||||
|
Its from a third party french email distribution company, makes sense, mass mailing to 600k people takes a lot of hardware/bandwidth. The links go via the third party URL so they can track who clicks on what, I work for an email marketing company and we do much the same thing.
The cost of the bandwidth to send a HTML email to over half a million people would be in the 1000's, slightly beyond the budget of most hackers.
__________________
Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit; Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad. Last edited by Gef; 27th April 2005 at 10:51 AM. |
|
||||
|
The mail is legit
__________________
I need scissors! 61! the man who makes the impossible possible www.roxya.com kekbur agol |
|
||||
|
Now I'm very confused. Firstly, I was conviced I got the spy/adware from one of the links in the mail. I hardly ever have spyware or similar junk on my pc and suddenly I had a lot of it and Im quite sure I didn't had any other webpages open. I tried the links in the mail again and now nothing happened. Guess I was wrong after all, but then again, "Better safe than sorry".
Secondly, today I received a similar mail. This time from the blizzard.com domain with the subject "World of Warcraft Insider #1" instead of "WoW Insider: Honor System Launches"; All the urls in the mail were different and so was some of the news. Now this seems more like a mail from Blizzard. For the people that deleted their mail but still want to see it: You can also find it here http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/insid...insider01.html I still find this a bit strange. My apologies if I caused some panic anywhere. |
![]() |
|
| Tags |
| fake, mail, wow insider honor system launched |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|